

Report of the Synod Council

May 1, 2022 - April 30, 2023

2022 Synod Officers:

The Rev. Stacie Fidlar, Bishop (2028)

Ms. Minette Scott, Vice President (2023)

The Rev. Luanne Cantrell, Secretary (2023)

Ms. Tammie Farley, Treasurer (2023)

Synod Council:

Ms. Monique Castillo (2023)

The Rev. Cathy Daharsh (2023)

Ms. Janice Forrest (2025)

The Rev. Brad Haugen (2024)

The Rev. Shellie Knight (2025)

The Rev. Frank Langholf (2025)

Ms. Nancy Lillevold (2024)

Mr. Ryan Mackey (2023)

Mr. George Sanchez (2025)

Mr. Luke Snyder (2023)

Mr. Jim Spring (2024)

Ms. Carol Swenson (2023)

The Rev. Andy Tyrrell (2024)

Ms. Taylor Ufkin (2023)

Executive Committee:

Bishop Stacie Fidlar

The Rev. Julie Monnard, Ex-Officio

Ms. Minette Willard

The Rev. Lu Cantrell

Ms. Tammie Farley

Mr. George Sanchez

Ms. Nancy Lillevold

Finance Committee:

Bishop Stacie Fidlar

The Rev. Pat Esker, Ex-Officio

The Rev. Julie Monnard, Ex-Officio

Ms. Minnette Willard, Vice President

Ms. Tammie Farley

The Rev. William Callister (2023)

Ms. Christina King (2025)

The Rev. Ryan Mackey (2025)

Ms. Carol Swenson (2023)

Rev. Andy Tyrrell (2024)

Ms. Lori Whalen (2025)

Meeting Dates and Locations:

5/14/2022 via Zoom

9/11/2022 via Zoom

1/14/2023 via Zoom

4/15/2023 via Zoom

A Summary of Administrative Actions:

- 1. Received the bishop's report at each meeting including reports from the bishop's staff.
- 2. Received and approved Synod Council minutes at each meeting.
- 3. Approved NIS Credit Card Policy
- 4. Accepted the resignation of Rev. Julie Monnard as Synod Secretary
- 5. Appointed Rev. Lu Cantrell to the Office of the Secretary until the next Synod Assembly when an election will be held.
- 6. The Bishop's Installation Offering Designation was approved.
- 7. Received reports from the NIS WELCA.
- 8. Approved the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Taskforce be reactivated.
- 9. Received reports from representatives of the synod standing committees.
- 10. Approved appointments to NIS Standing Committees, Synod Council, Synod Council Committees, Task Forces, and Synod Assembly Committees.
- 11. Approval to change registered agent from Timothy J. Leake to Bishop Stacie Fidlar was passed.
- 12. Authority was granted to Bishop Stacie Fidlar to extend a call for Grace Place.
- 13. Approval of new Congregations' Constitutions and Bylaws
 - 1. Followers of Christ, Plainfield
 - 2. St. Barnabas, Cary
 - 3. St. John's, Sterling
 - 4. Prince of Peace, Freeport

A Summary of Budget and Finance Actions

- 1. Regularly received and reviewed the reports of the treasurer, subject to audit.
- Received the audit report.
- 2. Approval was given for Bishop Stacie Fidlar to enter into a contract with the new audit firm once one is found.
- 3. Approved the 2024 Proposed Budget.
- 4. The 2023 Synod Assembly Offering to the Innovations Fund was approved as well as the in-kind offering of personal care kits.

A Summary of Personnel Actions

- 1. Appointment/Specialized Ministry Committee-Executive Committee
 - A. On Leave from Call-Extend/ Status Renewal

The Rev. Kimberly Riebe (8/14/2017-8/13/2023)-Study Leave

The Rev. Tom Ekstrand 9/1/2020-8/31/2023

Deacon Marti Bein 9/1/2020-8/31/2023

The Rev. Karen Tews 1/1/2022-12/31/2025

The Rev. Joseph Chu 11/30/2012-11/29/2024

The Rev. Tom Rodgers 9/1/2022-8/31/2025

Deacon Karin Graddy 9/1/2022-8/31/2025

The Rev. Kenneth Gibson (1/15/2023-1/14/2026)

The Rev. Mark Juliot (4/30/2023-04/29/2026)

The Rev. David Turner (2/8/2020-2/7/2023) – Renewal

Rev. Paul Gebo (3/15/2021-3/14/2024)

B. Extend/Renew Interim/Term Call through Synod Council

The Rev. Mack Patrick, Grace Place Campus Ministry NIU-3 yr. term (5/22-5/25)

The Rev. Vince Marolla-Beacon of Hope Hospice (9/2019-9/2022)

C. Invitation to Extended Service - Renewal

The Rev. Carrie Carnes (rostered United Methodist)-Trinity, Galesburg

The Rev. Maureen O'Connor (rostered Episcopal)-Light of Christ,

Algonquin

D. Calls of Assistants to the Bishop

The Rev. Mack Patrick, part time (Co-terminus)

The Rev. Pat Esker, part time (Co-terminus)

The Rev. Jennifer Beamsley (Co-terminus)

The Rev. Julie Monnard (Co-terminus)

1. Approve Retirement Status:

The Rev. Jeffrey Clements (September 1, 2022)

The Rev. Gary Erickson (September 1, 2022)

Deacon Cheryl Erdmann (September 1, 2022)

The Rev. David Hedlin (September 1, 2022)

The Rev. Marilyn Hanson (September 1, 2022)

The Rev. David Schweppe (May 1, 2023)

The Rev. Kurt Carlsen (May 31, 2023)

The Rev. Elizabeth Mascal (June 1, 2023)

The Rev. Barb Otten (June 30, 2023)

The Rev. Doug Liston (October 1, 2023)

2. Review of Retired Rostered Minister Status:

The Rev. Thomas F. Hanson

The Rev. Roger Hurlbut

The Rev. Randall Swanson

The Rev. Ralph M. Radloff

The Rev. Leo Patterson

The Rev. Alfred K. Beck

The Rev. Dennis L. Heaney

The Rev. Wendy Popp

The Rev. Lee H. Luebke

The Rev. Gerald M. Peterson

The Rev. Randall Willers

The Rev. Joseph N. Robb

The Rev. Christine Stienstra

The Rev. William S. Waxenberg

The Rev. Ronald Larson

The Rev. Gary Wollersheim

The Rev. Donald E. Lavelle

The Rev. Dell C. Olson

The Rev. Paul E. Johnson

The Rev. C. David Vidlar

Deacon Myrna Andersen

The Rev. Mark Cole

The Rev. Rodney A. Juell

The Rev. Robert C. Kinnear

The Rev Frederick Larner

The Rev. David W. Lawson

The Rev. Frank E. Lay

The Rev. William J. Nelson

The Rev. Frances Reilly Olson

The Rev. Herbert D. Priester

The Rev. James A. Roberts

Deacon Jonathan Chell

The Rev. Dr. Alan H. Creighton

Deacon Shirley Harbeck

The Rev. Dr. Michael R. Lawyer

The Rev. Loren L. Nielsen

The Rev. Milton L. Whitney

The Rev. Bruce Johnston

The Rev. Arlyn Tolzmann

Approve Rostered Ministers and SAMs requesting to be excused from 2022 Synod Assembly

The Rev. Debbie Kelly

Mr. Kent Terry

The Rev. Carrie Carnes

The Rev. Mark Juliot

The Rev. Maureen O'Connor

The Rev. Elizabeth Mascal

The Rev. Joseph O'Donnell

The Rev. Jacob Gawlick

4. Approve Rostered Ministers and SAMs requesting to be excused from 2023 Synod Assembly

The Rev. Jeff Schlesinger

The Rev. John Cunningham

Deacon. K Graddy

The Rev. Dr. Peter Vethanayagamony

The Rev. Doug Liston

The Rev. Jana Howson

The Rev. Keith Johnson

The Rev. Melinda Pupillo

The Rev. Elizabeth Mascal

The Rev. Dan Wynard

The Rev. Jon Pedersen

Deacon Jennifer Fox

5. Approval of Synod Appointments

The Rev. Jamie Gallagher, Southwest Conference Dean

The Rev. Chrissy Salser, Candidacy Committee

Ms. Sue Bull Welch, Candidacy Committee

The Rev. Zach Baer, Northeast Conference Dean

6. Approval of Committee Nominations for Synod Assembly

a. Credentials Committee

The Rev. Jennifer Ohman-Rodriguez (chair)

The Rev. Chris Lee

Ms. Rhonda Copeland

The Rev. Julie Monnard - Synod Staff Liaison

Ms. Julie Lewis Synod - Staff Liaison

b. Election Committee

Ms. Nancy Lillevold (chair)

Ms. Marianne Barstow

The Rev. Andy Tyrrell

The Rev. Mack Patrick - Synod Staff Liaison

c. Minutes Review Committee

The Rev. Shellie Knight

The Rev. Nord Swanstrom

Mr. Brandon Graves

The Rev. Pat Esker - Synod Staff Liaison

d. Resolutions Committee

The Rev. Zach Baer (chair)

Mr. Jim Cantrell

Deacon Carla Vanatta

The Rev. Andrew Kayes - Parliamentarian The Rev. Pat Esker - Synod Staff Liaison

7. Additional Personnel Items

a. Housing Allowance

Bishop Stacie Fidlar The Rev. Jennifer Beamsley The Rev. Julie Monnard

The Rev. Pat Esker

b. Approval of Portico Benefits Plan Selection—Gold+

Respectfully submitted, Rev. Luanne K. Cantrell, Secretary