Report of the Synod Council

May 1, 2021 – April 30, 2022

Synod Officers:

The Rev. Jeffrey Clements, Bishop (2022)

Ms. Minnette Scott, Vice President (2023)

The Rev. Donald Knowles, Secretary (2022)

Ms. Tammie Farley, Treasurer (2023)

Synod Council:

Ms. Madi Casteel (2021)
Ms. Monique Castillo (2020)
Mr. Jim Spring (2021)
The Rev. Cathy Daharsh (2021)
Ms. Carol Swenson (2020)
The Rev. Robert Franek (2022)
The Rev. Brad Haugen (2021)
Ms. Nancy Lillevold (2020)
Mr. Ryan Mackey (2020)

Mr. George Sanchez (2022)
Mr. Jim Spring (2021)
Ms. Carol Swenson (2020)
The Rev. Andy Tyrrell (2021)
Ms. Taylor Ufkin (2021)
Deacon Carla Vanatta (2022)
Mr. Ryan Mackey (2020)
The Rev. Janet Wold (2022)

Synod Staff:

The Rev. Denver Bitner, Assistant to the Bishop for North and Northwest Conferences The Rev. Michel Clark, Assistant to the Bishop for the West and Southwest Conferences Ms. Nancy Corey, Administrative Assistant to Pastors Erickson and Nordby/Registrar Deacon Cheryl Erdmann, Assistant to the Bishop

The Rev. Gary Erickson, Assistant to the Bishop and Director of Evangelical Mission

The Rev. Pat Esker, Assistant to the Bishop

Deacon Karin Graddy, Communication Director

The Rev. Marilyn Hanson, Assistant to the Bishop

Ms. Julie Lewis, Executive Secretary to the Bishop/Office Manager

Executive Committee:

The Rev. Jeffrey Clements, Bishop
The Rev. Pat Esker, Ex-Officio
Ms. Minnette Scott
Ms. Tammie Farley
Ms. Minnette Scott
Mr. Jim Spring

The Rev. Donald Knowles

Finance Committee:

The Rev. Jeffrey Clements, Bishop
The Rev. Pat Esker, Ex-Officio
Ms. Carol Swenson (2023)
The Rev. Gary Erickson, Ex-Officio
The Rev. Andy Tyrell (2024)
Ms. Minnette Scott, Vice President
Ms. Christina King (2022)
Ms. Carol Swenson (2023)
The Rev. Andy Tyrell (2024)
The Rev. Janet Wold (2022)
Ms. Tammie Farley
Mr. Russell Zeskey (2022)

The Rev. William Callister (2023)

Appointment/Specialized Ministry Committee:

The Rev. Jeffrey Clements, Bishop
The Rev. Pat Esker, Ex-Officio
Ms. Minnette Scott
Ms. Tammie Farley
Mr. Jim Spring

The Rev. Donald Knowles

Synod Council Meeting Dates and Locations:

May 16, 2020 Virtual Meeting *via* Zoom
September 12, 2020 Virtual Meeting *via* Zoom
January 16, 2021 Virtual Meeting *via* MS Teams
April 10, 2021 Virtual Meeting *via* MS Teams

A Summary of Administrative Actions

- 1. Received the bishop's report at each meeting including reports from the bishop's staff.
- 2. Received and approved Synod Council minutes at each meeting.
- **3.** Approved changes to the constitutions and/or bylaws of the following congregations:
 - a) Shepherd of the Prairie, Huntley
 - b) First, Geneseo
- **4.** Approved appointments to NIS Standing Committees, Synod Council, Synod Council Committees, Task Forces, and Synod Assembly Committees.
- **5.** Approved a continuing resolution to extend terms those elected at Synod Assembly until a successor is elected.
- **6.** Approved a grant proposal from the Social Ministry Committee for Covid-19 related ministries.
- 7. Received reports from the NIS WELCA.
- **8.** Approved synodical expectations for anti-racism training.
- **9.** Approved the removal of St. John's, Creston from the ELCA.
- **10.** Approved the NIS Revised Constitution to be presented to the 2021 Synod Assembly.
- **11.** Denied a request to become a partner with the ELCA Foundation.
- **12.** Approved the 2022 Synod Compensation Guidelines to be presented to the 2021 Synod Assembly.
- **13.** Received reports from representatives of the synod standing committees.

A Summary of Budget and Finance Actions

- 1. Regularly received and reviewed the reports of the treasurer, subject to audit.
- **2.** Received the audit report.
- **3.** Approved the 2021 audit contract.
- **4.** Approved a 2021 Revised Budget and the 2022 Proposed Budget.
- **5.** Designated the 2021 Synod Assembly offering be divided between seminary scholarships for female identifying students and the International Women's Scholarship Fund of the ELCA.

A Summary of Personnel Actions

- 1. Approved, renewed or reviewed "On Leave from Call" status to the following:
 - a. The Rev. Kimberly Riebe
 - b. The Rev. Wendy Popp
 - c. The Rev. Susan Davenport
 - d. The Rev. Robert Franck
 - e. The Rev. Nathan Feig
 - f. The Rev. Wayne Melaas-Swanson
 - g. The Rev. Tom Eckstrand
 - h. Deacon, Marti Bein

- i. The Rev. David Turner
- j. The Rev. Karyn Kost
- k. The Rev. Paul Gebo
- 2. Accepted the Rev. Peter Vethanayagamony (LSTC) to the roster of the Northern Illinois Synod
- 3. Renewed/Invited Calls to Extended Service
 - a. The Rev. Beth Hamilton
 - b. The Rev. Carrie Carnes
 - c. The Rev. Maureen O'Connor
- **4.** Reviewed the NIS Roster
- **5.** Extended term calls to Deacon Karin Graddy, the Rev. Marilyn Hanson, and the Rev. Pat Esker.
- **6.** Approved retirement requests of rostered ministers
 - a. The Rev. Randall Willers
 - b. The Rev. Sharon Rogers
 - c. The Rev. Richard Priggie
 - d. The Rev. Mark Hagen
 - e. Deacon Carla Vanatta
 - f. The Rev. Wayne Melaas-Swanson
 - g. The Rev. Wendy Popp
- 7. Reviewed and renewed roster status of retired pastors.
- **8.** Appointed/elected/called the following:
 - a. The Rev. Melinda Pupillo (Chaplain, Augustana College)

Respectfully Submitted,

The Rev. Donald L. Knowles, Secretary of the Synod