



Report of Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee began the process of reviewing open positions on the Synod Council and Standing Committees in November of 2023. We looked at the skills and experience essential of each of these openings and developed possible candidates for each one; all the while asking the Spirit to guide us as we raised up the names of those who might fill them.

In succeeding meetings, we highlighted names of those we believed had the skill and passion required. Between meetings, we stayed connected via email. Each potential nominee was contacted by a member of the committee.

We offer great thanks to all who prayed for guidance as they considered the call to serve in these positions with the NISynod. We thank all who listened for the Spirit's guidance, whether they decided to stand for election or heard a different call. We are so grateful to all for their faithful leadership in our synod.

The generous and selfless commitment of all who serve is what makes our congregations, our synods, the ELCA, and the Church function at its absolute best as we follow Jesus on The Way. Together, we can do all things "in Christ who strengthens us."

We encourage you to check out nisynod.com and take a look at all of the ministries our synod is able to carry out as we care for God's people. If you feel the tug of the Spirit calling you to serve in any of these ways, please consider being part of one of our subcommittees, or standing for election to participate on one of the synod standing committees or on Synod Council at a future Synod Assembly. You can find out more about each committee, subcommittee, and the persons to contact at nisynod.org under the *Ministries* tab.

Thank you again to all who considered serving and those who agreed to stand for election this year. The Northern Illinois Synod is grateful for your faithful service to God's church.

Donna Kelly

Nominating Committee Chair

Nominating Committee Membership

Mr. Jim Cantrell (Peace, Morris – East Conference)

Mr. Gary Groezinger (St. Paul, Kent – Northwest Conference)

The Rev. Laurie Hensley (Bethany, Woodhull - Southwest Conference)

Ms. Kay Johnson (All Saints, Byron – Central Conference)

Ms. Donna Kelly (Shepherd of the Prairie, Huntley – Northeast Conference)

Dr. David Renneke (St. James, Rock Island – West Conference)

The Rev. Kenneth Storck (Shepherd of the Valley, Rockford – North Conference)

Ms. Ann Terry (Illinois River Valley Parish – South Conference)

Ms. Michelle Wandersee (Faith, Rochelle – Central Conference)

Mr. Jeff Whalen (First, Ohio – South Conference)