Report of the Nominating Committee

This past January, the Nominating Committee of the Northern Illinois Synod met together via Zoom, and then stayed in contact over the following months. Together, we went over all the various positions and committees to which we elect individuals at Synod Assembly. As a committee, we needed to seek qualified candidates for positions on the Northern Illinois Synod Council and for positions on the Standing Committee of Congregational Life, Global Mission, Ministry Support, Outreach and Social Ministry.

This year's committee was selected according to the Constitutional revisions approved by the 2021 Synod Assembly. The Committee is made up of 12 members, approved by the Synod Council, with one member from each of the eight conferences, and four at-large members, from any conference and congregation in the Northern Illinois Synod.

The committee reviewed the offices to be elected at this year's Synod Assembly, lifted up names of possible nominees, and then contacted those suggested. The result are the nominations which you will see in this report.

We thank those who agreed to serve. We also thank those who considered standing for an office, but whodecided this was not the time.

As you either serve in this Assembly as a voting member or watch the livestream of the Assembly, if you hear of the work of the Synod Council or any of its committees, and you believe that your gifts and passions would be well suited for that function, I invite you to consider whether to stand for election at future Synod Assembly. You can find descriptions of each of these committees (and subcommittees) on our Synod website. Contacting that committee's chair may help you to find a way to get involved in a ministry of the Synod. If the Spirit is calling you, we will do what it takes to help you heed that call.

The Rev. Nord Swanstrom

Committee Chair

NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Appointed by the Northern Illinois Synod Council for a one-year term Staff Liaison: Deacon Cheryl A. Erdmann CErdmann@nisynod.org Chairperson of Nominating committee: The Rev. Nord Swanstrom

CENTRAL CONFERENCE

Mr. Ryan Mackey (Trinity, Manlius)

EAST CONFERENCE

The Rev. Lu Cantrell (Peace, Morris)

NORTH CONFERENCE

The Rev. Julane Nease (United, Rockford)

NORTHEAST CONFERENCE

The Rev. John Cunningham (Bethany, Crystal Lake)

NORTHWEST CONFERENCE

The Rev. Nord Swanstrom (First, Pecatonica)

SOUTH CONFERENCE

The Rev. Denise Rode (Immanuel, Earlville)

SOUTHWEST CONFERENCE

The Rev. Mara Ahles-Iverson (Zion, Kewanee)

WEST CONFERENCE

The Rev. Reed Pedersen (Augustana, Andover)

AT-LARGE MEMBERS

Deacon Laura Gorton (Christ, Belvidere, North Conference)

Dr. Randy Mullin (First, Geneseo, West Conference)

Ms. Barb Stark (First, Mt. Carroll, Northwest Conference)

Mr. Kent Terry (Immanuel, Marseilles, South Conference)

Nominees for the position of Synod Secretary, nominated by the Synod Council (per Northern Illinois Synod Constitution provision **S9.06.** "The Synod Council shall nominate at least one person for secretary; additional nominations may be made from the floor."

SECRETARY Nominees:

The Rev. Julie Monnard - Calvary, New Windsor (Southeast Conference)

The Rev. Doug Liston - Joyful Harvest, Johnsburg, (Northeast Conference)

The Rev. Andrew Kayes - Emmanuel, Oregon (Central Conference)

The Rev. Lu Cantrell - Peace, Morris (East Conference)

Nominees from the Nominating Committee for positions to be elected at the 2022 Synod Assembly:

Synod Council

LAITY Nominee for Synod Council:

Ms. Ms. Janice Forrest - Zion, Rockford (North Conference)

Ms. Kay Johnson - All Saints, Byron (Central Conference)

LAITY Nominee for Synod Council:

Mr. George Sanchez - New Life, Bolingbrook (East Conference)

Mr. Chris Patterson - Faith, South Beloit (North Conference)

ROSTERED MINISTER Nominee for Synod Council

The Rev. Pam Marolla - First, Galesburg (Southwest Conference)

The. Rev. Shellie Knight - St. John's, Pearl City (Northwest Conference)

ROSTERED MINISTER Nominee for Synod Council

The Rev. Scott Benolkin - Shepherd of the Valley, Rockford (North Conference)

The. Rev. Frank Langholf - Emmanuel, Rockford (North Conference)

The. Rev. Jamie Gallagher - First, Monmouth (Southwest Conference)

YOUTH REPRESENTATIVE Nominee for Synod Council:

Mr. Luke Snyder - St. Mark, Rockford (North Conference)

No nominee

Standing Committee – Congregational Life

LAITY Nominee Congregational Life Committee:

Ms. Melissa Rojas – Trinity, Mt. Morris (Central Conference)

No nominee

ROSTERED MINISTER Nominee for Congregational Life Committee Co

Deacon Laura Gorton – Christ, Belvidere (North Conference)

No nominee

ROSTERED MINISTER Nominee Congregational Life Committee:

The Rev. David Efflandt - Messiah, Port Byron (West Conference)

The Rev. Scott Stolberg - Our Savior's, Rockford (North Conference)

Standing Committee - Global Mission

ROSTERED MINISTER Nominee Global Mission Committee:

The Rev. Tammy Anderson - Bethesda, Morrison (Central Conference)

No nominee

ROSTERED MINISTER Nominee for Global Mission Committee:

The Rev. José Cortes – Messiah, Aledo (Southwest Conference)

No nominee

Standing Committee - Ministry Support Committee

LAITY Nominee Ministry Support Committee:

Ms. Marianne Barstow – St. Barnabas, Cary (Northeast Conference)

Ms. Barbara Stark – First, Mt. Carroll (Northwest Conference)

ROSTERED MINISTER Nominee Ministry Support Committee:

The Rev. Jill Flynn – Gloria Dei, Rockford (North Conference)

The Rev. Sharon Rogers – First, DeKalb (Northeast Conference)

<u>Standing Committee – Outreach</u>

LAITY Nominee for Outreach Committee:

Ms. Nancy O'Connor – Grace, Richmond (Northeast Conference)

Ms. Sharon Beksel – United, Rockford (North Conference)

LAITY Nominee for Outreach Committee:

Mr. Don Kinney – Christ, Belvidere (North Conference)

No nominee

LAITY Nominee for Outreach Committee:

Mr. Dave Musser, Shepherd of the Valley, Rockford (North Conference)

No nominee

ROSTERED MINISTER Nominee Outreach Committee

The Rev. Bob Stark – First, Mt. Carroll (Northwest Conference)

No nominee

<u>Standing Committee – Social Ministry</u>

LAITY Nominee Social Ministry Committee

Ms. Joan Soltwisch – Resurrection, Channahon (East Conference)

Ms. Carol Wahlstrom – Trinity, Ottawa (South Conference)

ROSTERED MINISTER Nominee Social Ministry Committee:

The Rev. Chuck Olson – Calvary, Rockford (North Conference)

No nominee